About Our School - St John the Baptist, Woy Woy
Our School

About Our School

St John the Baptist Catholic primary school is part of the Catholic Parish of Woy Woy Peninsula which was established in 1946.

The church was used as a school from 1922. Sisters of St Joseph, who had arrived at Kincumber as early as 1887, commuted daily from Gosford by train until a house was bought in Victoria Road Woy Woy in the 1930s and became a convent for three resident Sisters. The school gradually grew on the limited space around the church and presbytery, until it was rebuilt on its present site at Dulkara Road Woy Woy South in 1979.

St John the Baptist is our patron saint. He was the greatest prophet of hope. Through his example and inspiration we derive our school motto: “Honour Through Faith.” We believe our school is “A place of dignity and high expectations where the presence of God prevails.” The expectation in our school is that all who are a part of our vibrant community are asked to follow the scripture passage: “Treat others as you want them to treat you.” Matthew 7:12.

Moreover, all that we do to live our Catholic faith is based on our core school values of:

  • Respect
  • Cooperation
  • Responsibility
  • Fairness
  • Honesty
  • Compassion

The school population is drawn from a wide geographical area, across the ‘Central Coast Peninsula.’ Our enrolments extend as far away as Kariong to the North, Patonga in the south and McMaster’s Beach to the East. The majority of families in our community reside in the suburbs of Woy Woy, Umina, Ettalong, Koolewong, Tascott, Blackwall, Booker Bay, St Hubert’s Island, Empire Bay, Horsfield Bay, Pearl Beach, Woy Woy Bay, Daley’s Point and Phegan’s Bay.

At all times we welcome new families who share in our beliefs and values system.

St John the Baptist Catholic Primary School recently celebrated 100 years!